Information on:

The South Carolina Hall of Fame

The South Carolina Hall of Fame
2101 North Oak Street


The South Carolina Hall of Fame, dedicated on February 11, 1973, by Governor John C. West, was created to recognize and honor those contemporary and past citizens who have made outstanding contributions to South Carolina's heritage and progress. It is a nonprofit corporation conducted under a state charter. The South Carolina Hall of Fame is located in the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. On September 21, 2001, Governor Jim Hodges signed into law a bill designating the South Carolina Hall of Fame as the state’s official hall of fame.

Persons born in South Carolina who obtained recognition elsewhere and persons born elsewhere but who made their home in and obtained esteem and recognition in the state of South Carolina are eligible for induction.

One contemporary and one deceased citizen may be inducted into the Hall of Fame annually. The Confederation of South Carolina Local Historical Societies is the official organization for selecting nominees for the Hall of Fame. Each of the Confederation's 10 districts selects nominees - thus presenting 10 contemporary and 10 deceased nominees to the Board of Trustees for judging annually.

The South Carolina Hall of Fame is funded by the state of South Carolina, the city of Myrtle Beach and the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce.

The South Carolina Hall of Fame is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media